wiki:convert-secret-to-personal-circle

Version 2 (modified by Jamie McClelland, 5 days ago) (diff)

--

Convert secret circle to private circle

Circles are a way you can create groups of people in Nextcloud to more easily share folders and calendars.

When creating a circle, you are given four some-what confusing choices about the kind of circle you want to create:

  • Personal circle: a private circle that only the owner sees and can modify
  • Public circle: a public circle all members can see and join
  • Closed circle: a public circle that all members can see, but requires owner approval to join
  • Secret circle: a private circle that is not listed publicly and does not show up in search results.

From this description, it seems that a secret circle is the way to go, since a secret circle is not visible to other members. However, if someone knows the full name of a secret circle they can join it without owner approval.

Unfortunately, this flaw seriously compromises the security of a secret circle and therefore we recommend that everyone convert your secret circles to personal circles. You can do so by taking the following steps:

  • Create a new personal circle (you can use the same name as the correponding secret circle)
  • Add the same users to the personal circle
  • Share the folder or calendar currently shared with the secret circle to your new personal circle. When finished with this step, it will be shared to both circles.

  • Unshare the folder or calendar with the secret circle

  • Delete the secret circle

Attachments (4)

Download all attachments as: .zip