Opened 6 years ago

Closed 12 months ago

#8252 closed Bug/Something is broken (wontfix)

After initial attempt error, deleting hosting order fails to remove directory

Reported by: HistoriCUSS Owned by: Jamie McClelland
Priority: Medium Component: Tech
Keywords: red-ux new-item-error Cc: historiCUSS
Sensitive: no

Description (last modified by HistoriCUSS)

Being the BugMagnet, I continued testing...on another issue...and discovered what I think is an unrelated quirk/bug

I created a fake domain to test the other issue and as soon as I confirmed the behavior for that problem, I tried to delete this test domain, apparently too soon.

Errors were:

Failed to commit red item. Error: You cannot delete a record that is already deleted or has a status set to error or pending. Please wait until the status changes to make your change. If the status is set to soft-error, please read the error message and re-edit your record to fix it. Then, if you want, you can delete it. If the status is set to hard-error please notify support.:9.

Failed to delete related red items. Error: Failed to commit red item. Error: You cannot delete a record that is already deleted or has a status set to error or pending. Please wait until the status changes to make your change. If the status is set to soft-error, please read the error message and re-edit your record to fix it. Then, if you want, you can delete it. If the status is set to hard-error please notify support.:9.

See image attached - I am guessing it was still in pending status when I tried the [delete] command, resulting in the error shown.

update - I later found ticket #4556 explaining the above issue. This ticket concerns the failure to delete the related subdirectory as explained hereunder:

After several minutes passed, I selected this test Hosting Order entry and again clicked [delete]. This time CP reported the domain entry was successfully deleted and it was no longer on my list of Hosting Orders.

However...a little while later, I connected to one of my regular sites with sFTP and discovered there was still a directory for the test domain (1234.bug). It was not cleaned up on delete.

Attachments (1)

Hosting Order Dialog_03.JPG (118.5 KB) - added by HistoriCUSS 6 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (13)

Changed 6 years ago by HistoriCUSS

Attachment: Hosting Order Dialog_03.JPG added

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by Dana

Keywords: red new-item-error added
Owner: set to Ross
Status: newassigned

Hi historicuss,

I am looping Ross in to help troubleshoot this bug report with you. Thanks for reporting and screenshot.

Thanks,

Dana

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by Dana

Also referencing #8251

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by Ross

Owner: changed from Ross to Jamie McClelland

Yes it is true that these paths do not get removed. It is historically how the control panel functions, though I agree it is a bit confusing. I'm going to ask jamie to comment on why this is the case and whether or not we should consider it a bug, i.e. if there is a good reason for the behavior.

~/ross

comment:4 Changed 6 years ago by Jamie McClelland

No reason at all (except lazy programming). I agree, they should get cleaned up by red.

comment:5 Changed 6 years ago by HistoriCUSS

Description: modified (diff)

comment:6 Changed 6 years ago by HistoriCUSS

ok.. I am thinking more about this process then and hope I have a grasp of it.

I was working with a test hosting order so the directories that were created and then not deleted contained nothing of value. However, if the delete command was used on a formerly used directory that would contain content, then I would think a challenge would be needed informing the user that the subdirectory/folder for <domain>.org and all contents will be deleted, followed by a dialog "Are you sure you want to proceed with deleting all content related to domain.org?" yes/NO ? defaulting to NO

Or as an alternative, explain that the hosting order will be removed from the control panel list but that the related folders and content will remain in the users home directory until manually moved or deleted.

Does that sound appropriate?

Then the details of the expected behavior can be added to the related wiki How-Tos etc.

Last edited 6 years ago by HistoriCUSS (previous) (diff)

comment:7 Changed 6 years ago by HistoriCUSS

Keywords: red-ux added; red removed

comment:8 Changed 6 years ago by Jamie McClelland

That is what should be happening now. In other words, if you delete a hosting order, you get a warning that says "Are you sure you want to delete the hosting order: xxxxxxx? All related user accounts, email address, email lists, etc. will be deleted."

Then, it proceeds to delete everything inside the hosting order folder (all content) but leaves the folders themselves, which is the problem.

comment:9 Changed 6 years ago by HistoriCUSS

Cc: historiCUSS added

comment:10 Changed 13 months ago by updater

Sensitive: set

Changed to sensitive as part of leadership decision to make all tickets sensitive.

comment:11 Changed 12 months ago by HistoriCUSS

Sensitive: unset

comment:12 Changed 12 months ago by JaimeV

Resolution: wontfix
Status: assignedclosed

I think leaving the directories is still the default behavior. The way these services are provisioned and cleaned will be changing dramatically in the coming year so any changes to this are probably not worth pursuing.

Please login to add comments to this ticket.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.